Friday, October 7, 2011
8:00 pm | Capitol Theater | Overture Center for the Arts

Masterworks I - Concert of Firsts

Guest Artist Ilya Yakushev, pianist



Elgar | Serenade for Strings in E Minor, Op. 20
Prokofiev | Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat Major, Op. 10
Copland | Music for the Theatre
Gershwin | Rhapsody in Blue

The opening concert of our 2011/12 season gets underway with breath-taking excitement, as we experience Ilya Yakushev’s amazing talent. Originally from St Petersburg, he will perform Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.1, a work written while the young composer was still at the St Petersburg Conservatory in 1912. This compact concerto reminds us of what a brilliant piano virtuoso Prokofiev was, one who charted his course as an equally amazing composer. We open with Elgar’s romantic and heart-wrenching Serenade for Strings, one of his earliest string works from 1892, and also feature Copland’s Music for the Theatre, in which he first introduced jazz elements into his music. Commissioned by Koussevitzsky in 1925, it was written just a year after the premiere of Gershwin’s ever popular Rhapsody in Blue, which will conclude the program.


Click here for Ilya Yakushev Biography


Concert Sponsor

Guest Artist Sponsor


Pre-Concert Dinner Sponsor


Post Concert Reception Sponsor


WATCH: Ilya Yakushev - Haydn's Sonata in D major (part 1/2)